Extras

Film programme

The video and audio recordings of conversations with participating filmmakers and artists offer in-depth insight into the themes and works of this year’s film programmes: during the run-up to the festival, the selection committee members spoke with the filmmakers in the competition programmes and the feature film section about their approaches to and the backgrounds of their works. The curators of the thematic programme “The Unpossessable Possessor”, Anja Dornieden and Juan David González Monroy, each invited two participating artists to discuss their work. The speakers are Jim Trainor & Mark Toscano, Amy Halprin & Andrew Kim and Alee Peoples & Mike Stoltz. For “Show Us the Money and We Will Resist”, curator Nour Ouayda spoke with Mohamed Soueid and Akram Zaatari about their work for Lebanese television in the 1990s. For “The New Death” Steve Reinke arranged encounters between two of the artists and guests involved in the programme: Leslie Thornton is in conversation with James Richards, Andrew Norman Wilson shares ideas with James N. Kienitz Wilkins.

Artist Conversations: Competition

Artist Conversations: Feature Films

Podcasts: The Unpossessable Possessor

Artist Conversation: Show Us the Money an We Will Resist

Podcasts: The New Death

01_Filmprogramm_Extras_Elixir
Amy Halpern - Elixir
US 2012, 00:07:00
02_Flimprogramm_Extras_ArtClass
Andrea Luka Zimmerman - Art Class
GB 2020, 00:49:57
06 Filmprogramm Eva C Heldmann Fremd Gehen
Eva C. Heldmann – fremd gehen. Gespräche mit meiner Freundin (Stepping out. Conversation with My Friend)
DE 1999, 35mm, 01:04:00
04_Filmprogramm_Extras_SpotlightonaBrickWall
Alee Peoples, Mike Stoltz - Spotlight on a Brick Wall
US 2016, 00:08:00
07 Filmprogramm Chantal Partamian Katsakh Obsolete Frames
Chantal Partamian – Katsakh: Obsolete Frames, LB 2021, 00:00:42
Chantal Partamian
Chantal Partamian
03 Filmprogramm Dani Gal Three Works For Piano
Dani Gal – Three Works for Piano
DE/AT 2020, 00:34:31
05_Filmprogramm_Extras_Z_TheOldVictrola
Andrew Norman Wilson - Z = |Z/Z•Z-1 mod 2|-1: The Old Victrola
US 2020, 00:13:43
06_Filmprogramm_Extras_JenniferWhereAreYou
Leslie Thornton - Jennifer, Where Are You?
US 1981, 00:11:00
07_Filmprogramm_Extras_TrustStudy
Shobun Baile - Trust Study #1
US 2020, 00:15:00

Exhibition

With our virtual tour we present this year’s EMAF exhibition “Possessed”.

Vimeo

01_Ausstellung_Extras_MadreDrone
Patricía Dominguez - Madre Drone
Installation
Angela von Brill
02_Ausstellung_Extras_NewExtractivism
Vladan Joler - New Extractivism
Installation
Angela von Brill
03_Ausstellung_Extras_MotlhabaWaReKeNamile
Lerato Shadi – Motlhaba Wa Re Ke Namile
Videoprojection
Angela von Brill
04_Ausstellung_Extras_BabylonianVision
Nora Al-Badri - Babylonian Vision
Installation
Angela von Brill
09 Ausstellung Pedro Neves Marques – YWY, The Android Videoprojektion
Pedro Neves Marques – YWY, a androide
Videoprojection
Angela von Brill
05_Ausstellung_Extras_WorldhealingForest
EMAF Exhibition „possessed“/ Front: Installation: “WorldHealingForest” (Johannes Paul Raether), Back: Installation: “Babylonian Vision” (Nora Al-Badri), Installation: “Madre Drone” (Patricía Dominguez), Right side: Videoprojection: “YWY, a androide” (Pedro Neves Marques)
Angela von Brill
06_Ausstellung_Extras_ScenesfromTrialandError
Tekla Aslanishvili – Scenes from Trial and Error
Dokumentation
Angela von Brill

In addition, some artists offer a very special insight into their work through audios.

Johannes Paul Raether about "WorldhealingForest"

Transcript

Tekla Aslanishvili about „Scenes from Trial and Error“

Transcript

Nora Al-Badri about „Babylonian Vision”

Transcript

Patricia Domínguez about “Madre Drone”

Transcript

Talks

The Talks at this year’s European Media Art Festival (EMAF) address the question of what “ownership” and “possession” mean in today’s world and investigate their potential interrelationships. In six virtual discussion rounds, the invited theorists, artists and activists will talk about, among other things, the similarities between economies based on burning fossil fuels and colonial plantations. Other topics include technoheritage, cultural dispossession, today’s hidden workforce, digital habits and collective trauma. Special emphasis is placed on the incessant struggle of resistant networks and ecologies. Artists Nora Al-Badri and Lerato Shadi, among others, discuss strategies for countering cultural dispossession. Heather Davis and Regine Rapp take up the role of plastic in our lives today. The binaries of human/machine and race/subjugation are central to the discussion by Dr Ramon Amaro and Maya Indira Ganesh. Ariana Dongus and Tiara Roxanne examine data colonialism. Black ecology and the connections between climate change and colonialism are the topics in the talk by Jacqueline Brown and Sria Chatterjee. And Liam Young joins us on a science fiction safari through an imaginary city made up of the earth’s entire population.

All talks are still freely available on our Vimeo channel.

EMAF Talks

Campus

The #smalltalks are as individual as the people participating, each fellow artist and friend from the Breitz/Cortiñas class of the HBK Braunschweig is taking a deep dive into the work they are presenting for EMAF. From guerilla gardening protesting the inhuman treatment of Afghani refugees and make up tutorials on hiding in a lens filled space, to the colorful creatures of the mutterzwiebel world, join us for a multilayered and diverse series of artist talks.

All #smalltalks are still available on our Vimeo channel.

Campus #smalltalks

Extras

Filmprogramm

Einen Einblick in die Themen und Arbeiten der diesjährigen Filmprogramme geben die Video- und Tonaufzeichnungen von Gesprächen mit den beteiligten Filmemacher:innen und Künstler:innen: Die Mitglieder der Auswahlkommission sprachen im Vorfeld des Festivals mit den Filmemacher:innen der Wettbewerbsprogramme und der Langfilm-Sektion über Zugänge und Hintergründe zu ihren Arbeiten. Die Kurator:innen des Themenprogramms „The Unpossessable Possessor“, Anja Dornieden und Juan David González Monroy, haben je zwei beteiligte Künstler:innen eingeladen, sich über ihre Arbeiten auszutauschen. Es sprechen Jim Trainor & Mark Toscano, Amy Halprin & Andrew Kim sowie Alee Peoples & Mike Stoltz. Im Rahmen von „Show Us the Money and We Will Resist“ sprach die Kuratorin Nour Ouayda mit Mohamed Soueid und Akram Zaatari über ihre Arbeiten für das libanesische Fernsehen in den 1990er Jahren. Für „The New Death“ hat Steve Reinke Begegnungen zwischen zwei der am Programm beteiligte:n Künstler:innen und Gästen arrangiert: Leslie Thornton ist im Gespräch mit James Richards, Andrew Norman Wilson tauscht sich aus mit James N. Kienitz Wilkins.

Artist Conversations: Competition

Artist Conversations: Feature Films

Podcasts: The Unpossessable Possessor

Artist Conversation: Show Us the Money an We Will Resist

Podcasts: The New Death

01_Filmprogramm_Extras_Elixir
Amy Halpern - Elixir
US 2012, 00:07:00
02_Flimprogramm_Extras_ArtClass
Andrea Luka Zimmerman - Art Class
GB 2020, 00:49:57
06 Filmprogramm Eva C Heldmann Fremd Gehen
Eva C. Heldmann – fremd gehen. Gespräche mit meiner Freundin (Stepping out. Conversation with My Friend)
DE 1999, 35mm, 01:04:00
04_Filmprogramm_Extras_SpotlightonaBrickWall
Alee Peoples, Mike Stoltz - Spotlight on a Brick Wall
US 2016, 00:08:00
07 Filmprogramm Chantal Partamian Katsakh Obsolete Frames
Chantal Partamian – Katsakh: Obsolete Frames
LB 2021, 00:00:42
Chantal Partamian
03 Filmprogramm Dani Gal Three Works For Piano
Dani Gal – Three Works for Piano
DE/AT 2020, 00:34:31
05_Filmprogramm_Extras_Z_TheOldVictrola
Andrew Norman Wilson - Z = |Z/Z•Z-1 mod 2|-1: The Old Victrola
US 2020, 00:13:43
06_Filmprogramm_Extras_JenniferWhereAreYou
Leslie Thornton - Jennifer, Where Are You?
US 1981, 00:11:00
07_Filmprogramm_Extras_TrustStudy
Shobun Baile - Trust Study #1
US 2020, 00:15:00

Ausstellung

Mit unserem virtuellen Rundgang stellen wir die diesjährige EMAF-Ausstellung “Possessed” vor.

Vimeo

01_Ausstellung_Extras_MadreDrone
Patricía Dominguez - Madre Drone
Installation
Angela von Brill
02_Ausstellung_Extras_NewExtractivism
Vladan Joler - New Extractivism
Installation
Angela von Brill
03_Ausstellung_Extras_MotlhabaWaReKeNamile
Lerato Shadi – Motlhaba Wa Re Ke Namile
Videoprojektion
Angela von Brill
04_Ausstellung_Extras_BabylonianVision
Nora Al-Badri - Babylonian Vision
Installation
Angela von Brill
09 Ausstellung Pedro Neves Marques – YWY, The Android Videoprojektion
Pedro Neves Marques – YWY, a androide
Videoprojektion
Angela von Brill
05_Ausstellung_Extras_WorldhealingForest
EMAF Exhibition „possessed“/ Front: Installation: “WorldHealingForest” (Johannes Paul Raether), Back: Installation: “Babylonian Vision” (Nora Al-Badri), Installation: “Madre Drone” (Patricía Dominguez), Right side: Videoprojection: “YWY, a androide” (Pedro Neves Marques)
Angela von Brill
06_Ausstellung_Extras_ScenesfromTrialandError
Tekla Aslanishvili – Scenes from Trial and Error
Dokumentation
Angela von Brill

Zudem bieten einige Künstler:innen durch Audios einen ganz besonderen Einblick in ihre Arbeiten.

Johannes Paul Raether about "WorldhealingForest"

Transkript

Tekla Aslanishvili about „Scenes from Trial and Error“

Transkript

Nora Al-Badri about „Babylonian Vision”

Transkript

Patricia Domínguez about “Madre Drone”

Transkript

Talks

Die Talks des diesjährigen EMAF beschäftigen sich mit der Frage, was „Besitz“ und „Besessenwerden“ in der heutigen Welt bedeuten und geht dabei etwaigen Wechselbeziehungen auf den Grund. In sechs virtuellen Diskussionsrunden sprechen die geladenen Theoretiker:innen, Künstler:innen und Aktivist:innen unter anderem über die Gemeinsamkeiten von auf Verbrennung fossiler Energien basierenden Volkswirtschaften und kolonialen Großpflanzungen. Des weiteren geht es um Technoheritage, kulturelle Enteignung, die im Verborgenen tätigen Arbeitskräfte von heute, digitale Gewohnheiten und kollektives Trauma. Besonderes Gewicht liegt dabei auf dem unentwegten Kampf widerständiger Netzwerke und Ökologien. So diskutieren unter anderem die Künstlerinnen Nora Al-Badri und Lerato Shadi über Strategien gegen kulturelle Enteignung. Heather Davis und Regine Rapp sprechen über die Rolle von Plastik in unseren heutigen Lebenswelten. Die Binaritäten Mensch/Maschine und Rasse/Unterwerfung stehen in der Diskussion von Dr. Ramon Amaro und Maya Indira Ganesh im Mittelpunkt. Ariana Dongus und Tiara Roxanne beschäftigen sich mit Datenkolonialismus. Schwarze Ökologie und die Zusammenhänge von Klimawandel und Kolonialismus sind die Themen im Talk von Jacqueline Brown und Sria Chatterjee. Und Liam Young begibt sich mit uns auf eine Science-Fiction-Safari durch eine imaginäre Stadt der gesamten Erdbevölkerung.

Alle Talks sind weiterhin frei auf unserem Vimeo Kanal verfügbar.

EMAF Talks

Campus

Die #smalltalks sind so individuell wie die teilnehmenden Personen. Jede/r Künstler:in und Freund:in aus der Breitz/Cortiñas-Klasse der HBK Braunschweig taucht tief in die Arbeit ein, die er/sie für das EMAF präsentiert. Von Guerilla-Gardening, das gegen die unmenschliche Behandlung afghanischer Flüchtlinge protestiert, über Make-up-Tutorials zum Verstecken in einem mit Linsen gefüllten Raum, bis hin zu den bunten Kreaturen der Mutterzwiebel-Welt, begleiten Sie uns zu einer vielschichtigen und abwechslungsreichen Reihe von Künstler:innengesprächen.

Alle #smalltalks sind weiterhin auf unserem Vimeo-Kanal verfügbar.

Campus #smalltalks